Nominations for the 21st Annual Immigrants of Distinction Awards are now officially closed! Award finalists will be notified in January, and the award recipients will be announced at the Immigrants of Distinction Awards on March 10th, 2017.


Eligibility Criteria:

  • Individuals must have been born outside of Canada
  • Individuals must be permanent residents of Calgary and/or surrounding areas
  • The Awards are not open to individuals who currently hold an elected political office

Please complete the online application form and include the following:

  • A resume of the nominee detailing career, education and volunteer activities or life time achievement
  • Letters of support from two references
  • A photograph for the program booklet
  • Any additional material supporting the nomination of this individual such as articles, awards, etc.


Eligibility Criteria:

  • Nominated organizations must have an office in Calgary and/or surrounding area, either locally owned or a local branch of a national or multi-national organization
  • Organization can be nominated by an internal employee or external stakeholder

Please complete the online application form and include the following:

  • A 1 to 3 page profile, describing how the organization has successfully included immigrants/refugees and implemented diversity initiatives in the workplace or made significant contributions in serving ethnically diverse client groups. The profile should include documented business practices and/or policies.
  • A copy of the most recent annual report
  • Any additional materials supporting the nomination of the organization such as brochures, pamphlets, etc.

Nomination Resources

These links will help you to nominate your candidate:

Important Dates

All nominees must be able to attend the IDA Gala on March 10, 2017 in order to be considered for an award.

  • September 26 2016 – Nominations open online
  • November 30 2016, 11:59 pm – Nominations close
  • December – January –  Review & interview process
  • February 2017 – Finalists announced
  • March 10 2017 – Awards Ceremony, The Westin Calgary